Surrender

when I read this it is a message for my brother that is struggling with drugs.

20130516-230423.jpg

Whenever I think about the word ‘surrender’ it’s always in the context of war or some sort of conflict. I’m not entirely sure what helped shape this word for me but recently I’ve been grappling with the idea of surrendering to the things that make and sustain my beautiful existence. The grammar dork inside me, the person attached to this idea of surrender as directly correlated to war and conflict keeps raising the question “are you using this word correctly?” I’ve realized that in surrendering to my radiance, my integrity, my grace, I’m winning a major internal war. The war of comparison, social pressure, being ‘better than.’

As I continue my journey I commit to surrendering to everything that nourishes and everything that creates. Everything that makes me whole.

View original post

Leave a Reply

